What Say You?

th

In our culture, we are trained to do what is expected. To become something acceptable in society is the school’s goal. Because of all the training, we learn to depend on the opinion of others as our acceptance. Media, fashion, trends and peers often determine our direction in life and more importantly, our perception of self. Jesus was no different in asking about public opinion. Luke 9: 18 Jesus asked his disciples, “Who do the crowds say I am?” There was definitely a lot of talking going on in town about this man who heals and claims to know God. Their answers varied from Elijah to John the Baptist. Both of these highly regarded men of God from the past. They thought very highly of him, but didn’t know Him personally enough to say who He really is. I know of Billy Graham and think very highly of him and devotion to God but I don’t know him well enough to call him father or brother. Those that call him father know his thoughts and deepest feelings; they have experienced his emotions and have shared meals with him.
Then Jesus asked one that has been with him for days, has broken bread with Him, and heard His lessons and heard His prayers to God. Jesus asked Peter, “What about you? Who do you say I am?” Peter answered, “The Christ of God” (Luke 9:20). Only Peter and a few other disciples knew who Jesus really was because they spent time with Him.
What about you? Who do say Jesus is? Prophet, teacher, leader, Son of God, a good man or part of history? Because I have a personal relationship with Jesus, I say God is my Father, my Redeemer, my Protector, my Hope and Salvation, my Help, my Life and the very breath I breathe. He will be many things to all people. What you need, God will be. He supplies “all our needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:19). What do we need? A Savior, a friend, comforter, helper, peace-maker, physician, defender, and shelter. Jesus is all of these and MORE!

Leave a Reply

